## **Louisville Metro Government**



## **Action Summary - Tentative**

Thursday, March 16, 2023 5:15 PM

#### THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

**Council Chambers/Virtual** 

# **Committee of the Whole**

Tammy Hawkins (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Kumar Rashad (D-3),
Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Phillip T. Baker (D-6),
Paula McCraney (D-7), Ben Reno-Weber (D-8),
Andrew Owen (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11),
Rick Blackwell (D-12), Dan Seum, Jr. (R-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14),
Jennifer Chappell (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17)\*,
Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20),
Betsy Ruhe (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), Jeff Hudson (R-23),
Madonna Flood (D-24), Khalil Batshon (R-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26)
\*Denotes the Committee Chair

#### Call to Order

Council President Winkler called the meeting to order at 5:28 p.m.

This meeting was held pursuant to KRS 61.826 and Council Rule 5A. All Council Members attended the meeting in Chambers, except for the following who attended virtually via WebEx:

- Council Member Mulvihill
- Council Member Blackwell
- Council Member Fowler

#### Roll Call

#### A quorum was established.

Present: 25 - Committee Member Tammy Hawkins (D-1), Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Committee Member Kumar Rashad (D-3), Committee Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Committee Member Phillip T. Baker (D-6), Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), Committee Member Andrew Owen (D-9), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Dan Seum, Jr. (R-13), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Jennifer Chappell (D-15), Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Committee Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Committee Member Betsy Ruhe (D-21), Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member Jeff Hudson (R-23), Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24), Committee Member Khalil Batshon (R-25), and Committee Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)

#### Support Staff

Sarah Martin, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Eric Graninger, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Alice Lyon, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Robert Tinsley, Civic Innovation and Technology

#### Clerk(s)

Sonya Harward, Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk

#### **Review of Metro Council Agenda**

Council President Winkler reviewed the Metro Council agenda.

Council Member Flood stated that one of the items forwarded from the Planning and Zoning Committee would have a binding element to be considered as an amendment.

Council Member Blackwell briefly spoke about item 34 (CIF030923LMPDmB) that was forwarded from the Budget and Appropriations Committee.

ID 23-0337

#### Metro Council Agenda - March 16, 2023

Attachments: FINAL Metro Council Agenda 3-16-23.pdf

ID 23-0336

Addresses to Council - March 16, 2023

Attachments: Addresses to Council 3-16-23.pdf

Handout - N. Cavalcante.pdf

### **Presidential Updates**

Council President Winkler made announcements regarding the following:

- All Council Members and Council staff to complete Sexual Harassment Training by March 20.
- Photographer available on April 13, 2023 for individual and group photos.
- Thanks regarding Art in City Hall Reception
- Birthdays

#### **Special Discussion**

ID 23-0338

# DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE'S REPORT ON LOUISVILLE METRO POLICE DEPARTMENT - TIMELINE AND PROCESS:

Mayor's Office and Jefferson County Attorney's Office

David Kaplan, Mayor's Office, and Eric Graninger, Jefferson County Attorney's Office, gave an overview of the Department of Justice's report.

The following also spoke to this item:

- Council Member Piagentini
- Council Member Reed
- Council Member Arthur
- Council Member Hawkins
- Council Member Purvis
- Council Member Rashad
- Council Member Baker
- Council Member Shanklin
- Council Member Parker
- Council President Winkler
- Council Member Seum
- Council Member Ackerson
- Council Member McCraney

## **Adjournment**

Without objection, Council President Winkler adjourned the meeting at 6:34 p.m.