

Louisville Metro Government

Action Summary - Final Parks and Sustainability Committee

Chair Cindi Fowler (D-14)
Vice Chair James Peden (R-23)
Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5)
Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10)
Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12)
Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18)
Committee Member Amy Holton Stewart (D-25)

Thursday, October 6, 2022

3:00 PM

Council Chambers/Virtual

THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

Call to Order

Chair Fowler called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m.

Roll Call

Chair Fowler introduced the committee members and non-committee members present. A quorum was established.

*NOTE: All committee members and non-committee members present attended in Chambers, except Committee Member Purvis, Committee Member Mulvihill, Committee Member Blackwell, Committee Member Parker, Committee Member Holton Stewart, and Council Member Shanklin, who attended virtually.

Present: 7 -

Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10),
 Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Chair Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee
 Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Amy Holton Stewart (D-25),
 and Vice Chair James Peden (R-23)

Non-Committee Member(s)

Council Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Council Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Council President David James (D-6), Council Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Council Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), and Council Member Nicole George (D-21)

Support Staff

Alice Lyon, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk(s)

Cheryl Woods, Assistant Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk

Pending Legislation

[See the "Captioning Transcript of Parks and Sustainability Committee Meeting - October 6, 2022.pdf" attached hereto for additional information regarding the discussion of each item.]

ID 22-1346

Captioning Transcript of Parks and Sustainability Committee Meeting - October 6, 2022

<u>Attachments:</u> Captioning Transcript of Parks and Sustainability Committee Meeting
- October 6, 2022.pdf

1. <u>O-183-22</u>

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 42 OF THE LOUISVILLE METRO CODE OF ORDINANCES REGARDING USE OF METRO OWNED PARKS.

<u>Sponsors:</u> Primary David James (D-6), Primary Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Primary Cindi Fowler (D-14), Primary Nicole George (D-21) and Additional Amy Holton Stewart (D-25)

Attachments: O-183-22 PROPOSED CABS 091422 Amend LMCO Chp 42 RE

Parks Fees.pdf

O-183-22 V.1 060922 Amend LMCO Chp 42 RE Parks Fees.pdf

This item remained held in committee.

2. O-263-22

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING SECTIONS 131.01, 131.02, AND 131.03 OF THE LOUISVILLE METRO CODE OF ORDINANCES ("LMCO") RELATING TO CAMPING ON METRO PROPERTY, AND SECTIONS 42.31, 42.32, AND 42.99 OF THE LMCO RELATING TO CAMPING IN METRO PARKS, AND SECTION 97.072 OF THE LMCO REGARDING OBSTRUCTION OF SIDEWALKS AND PUBLIC WAYS.

<u>Sponsors:</u>Primary Nicole George (D-21), Primary Pat Mulvihill (D-10) and Primary David James (D-6)

<u>Attachments:</u> O-263-22 PROPOSED CABS 091422 Amend LMCO RE Camping and

Obstruction of Public Ways.pdf

O-263-22 V.1 090822 Amend LMCO RE Camping and Obstruction of

Public Ways.pdf

Presentation Administering LMCO 131.01 131.03.pdf

A motion was made by Vice Chair Peden, seconded Council Member Holton Stewart, that this Ordinance be untabled.

Susan Buchino, Office of Resilience and Community Services, gave a presentation (see attached).

The following spoke to this item:

- Council Member George
- Susan Buchino
- Chair Fowler
- Tameka Laird, Office of Resilience and Community Services

- Committee Member Purvis
- Alice Lyon, Jefferson County Attorney's Office
- Council Member Hollander
- Council President James
- Council Member Arthur
- Committee Member Mulvihill
- Vanessa Burns, Public Works
- Chief Erica Shields, Louisville Metro Police Department
- Maragret Brosko, Metro Parks and Recreation
- Jon Pilbean, Office of Resilience and Community Services
- Council Member Piagentini
- Vice Chair Peden

A motion was made by Vice Chair Peden, seconded by Committee Member Purvis, that this Ordinance be tabled.

The motion to table carried by a voice vote.

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Fowler adjourned the meeting at 4:42 p.m.