

Louisville Metro Government

Legislation Text

File #: O-339-22, Version: 1

ORDINANCE NO. , SERIES 2022

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING THE LOUISVILLE METRO CODE OF ORDINANCES SECTIONS 51.101 AND 51.102 REGARDING THE WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT BOARD.

SPONSORED BY: COUNCIL MEMBER HOLLANDER

WHEREAS, the General Assembly enacted House Bill 246 in 2017 that amended Kentucky Revised Statutes ("KRS") 109.115 and 109.310; and

WHEREAS, the new provision in KRS Section 109.115 requires that the Louisville Metro Code of Ordinances ("LMCO") Sections 51.101 and 51.102 be amended to reflect changes affecting the composition of the Waste Management District Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF THE LOUISVILLE/JEFFERSON COUNTY METRO GOVERNMENT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION I: LMCO Section 51.101 is amended as follows:

§ 51.101 BOARD OF DIRECTORS.

- (A) The business, activities and affairs of the Waste Management District shall be managed, controlled and conducted by a Board composed of fiveseven directors appointed by the Mayor and approved by Louisville Metro Council. One director shall be a resident of and representative of the area covered by each of the three Fiscal Court Commissioner Districts. The fourth director shall be a resident of and represent the Urban Services District. The fifth director shall be an at-large resident of the county and shall serve as chairperson of the Board. One of the members shall be a resident of a rural area of the county. The seven directors shall be composed of the following:
- (1) Three residents, one from each of the three Fiscal Court districts in the county and no two members shall reside within the same state Senate district;

File #: O-339-22, Version: 1

(2) One resident of the county who shall also reside within and represent the Urban Services

District within the consolidated local government;

(3) One resident of the county submitted by the organization representing the largest amount

of cities within the county which does not have statewide membership;

(4) One resident of the county who does not reside within a city or the Urban Services District

in the county; and

(5) One resident of the county submitted by the association representing the largest number of

waste management entities operating within the county.

(B) Except for the initial appointment to the Board, each director shall serve a two-year term and

shall serve no more than three consecutive terms until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

; t The initial Board shall consist of three directors appointed for one year and two four directors

appointed for a full term. Thereafter, Board appointments shall be for full terms. A director is eligible

to succeed himself or herself. Should a duly appointed director die, resign, be removed or refuse to

act (fail to attend three successive regular meetings of the Board), appointment shall be only for the

unexpired term.

(C) A director may be removed by the Mayor pursuant to KRS 65.007.

(D) The Board shall annually elect a chairperson from its members. The chairperson shall serve a

one-year term and is eligible for re-election for two additional terms. No chairperson shall serve more

than three terms as chairperson.

SECTION II: LMCO Section 51.102 is amended as follows:

§ 51.102 MEETINGS OF BOARD; QUORUM.

Regular meetings of the Board may be bi-monthly or as deemed necessary by the Board, but

the Board shall meet no less than once per quarter. The Board shall fix the time and place of regular

meetings. Special meetings may be called in accordance with Board rules.

(B) Three members of the Board Fifty per	cent of the Board minus vacancies	
shall constitute a quorum, and the affirmative	e vote of at least three <u>four</u> members of t	he Board shall
be necessary for the adoption of any motion,	measure, or resolution.	
SECTION III: This Ordinance shall tal	ke effect upon its passage and approval o	r otherwise
becoming law.		
Sonya Harward	David James	
Metro Council Clerk	President of the Council	
Crog Finahor	Approval Data	
Greg Fischer Mayor	Approval Date	
APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY	:	
Michael J. O'Connell		
Jefferson County Attorney		
BY:	_	
O-339-21 - Solid Waste Management Board Update KDM 11-4-22		

File #: O-339-22, Version: 1