

Louisville Metro Government

Action Summary - Tentative Public Safety Committee

Chair Mark Fox (D-13)
Vice Chair James Peden (R-23)
Committee Member Angela Bowens (D-1)
Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2)
Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7)
Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18)
Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Thursday, October 20, 2022

1:00 PM

Council Chambers/Virtual

THIS IS CONSIDERED A SPECIAL MEETING THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

Call to Order

Chair Fox called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

Roll Call

Chair Fox introduced the committee and non-committee members present. A quorum was established.

*NOTE: All committee and non-committee members present attended in chambers except for Committee Member Bowens, Committee Member Parker and Committee Member Flood, who attended virtually.

Present: 4 - Committee Member Angela Bowens (D-1), Chair Mark Fox (D-13), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), and Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Excused: 1 - Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2)

Absent: 2 - Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), and Vice Chair James Peden (R-23)

Non-Committee Member(s)

Council Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19) and Council President David James (D-6).

Support Staff

Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Robbie Howard, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk(s)

Marissa Brown, Assistant Clerk Sonya Harward, Metro Council Clerk

Special Discussion

[See the "Captioning Transcript of Special Public Safety Committee Meeting - October 20, 2022.pdf" attached hereto for additional information regarding the discussion of each item.]

ID 22-1479

Captioning Transcript of Special Public Safety Committee Meeting - October 20, 2022

<u>Attachments:</u> Captioning Transcript of Special Public Safety Committee Meeting - October 22, 2022.pdf

ID 22-1418

GROUP VIOLENCE INTERVENTION (GVI)

Dondre Jefferson, Community Building

Keith Talley, Mayor's Office

David Kennedy, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Paul Smith, National Network for Safe Communities

Deputy Chief Jackie Villaroel, Louisville Metro Police Department

Ivan Haygood, Louisville Metro Police Department

Paul Callanan, Community Building

Lisa Lamb, Department of Probation and Parole

Honorable Thomas B. Wine, Commonwealth Attorney's Office

Honorable Ann Bailey Smith, Jefferson Circuit Court

Attachments: Council Presentation 10 20 22.pdf

GVI Video Link.pdf

Dondre Jefferson, Community Building, gave a presentation (see attached).

The following also spoke to this item:

- Chair Fox
- Deputy Chief Jackie Villaroel, Louisville Metro Police Department
- David Kennedy, John Jay College of Criminal Justice
- Council Member Piagentini
- Dan Fountain, Department of Probation and Parole
- Paul Smith, National Network for Safe Communities
- Ivan Haygood, Louisville Metro Police Department
- Honorable Ann Bailey Smith, Jefferson Circuit Court
- Honorable Thomas B. Wine, Commonwealth Attorney's Office
- Council President James
- Kim Moore, Justice Community Connection
- Paul Callanan, Community Building

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Fox adjourned the meeting at 2:47 p.m.