Louisville Metro Government



Action Summary - Final

Thursday, December 15, 2022 5:15 PM

THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

Council Chambers/Virtual

Committee of the Whole

Angela Bowens (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Keisha Dorsey (D-3),
Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), David James (D-6)*,
Paula McCraney (D-7), Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8),
Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11),
Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mark H. Fox (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14),
Kevin Triplett (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17),
Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20),
Nicole George (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23)
Madonna Flood (D-24), Amy Holton Stewart (D-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26)
*Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

Call to Order

Council President James called the meeting to order at 5:20 p.m.

This meeting was held pursuant to KRS 61.826 and Council Rule 5A. All Council Members attended the meeting in Chambers, except for the following who attended virtually via WebEx:

- Council Member Shanklin
- Council Member Parker

Roll Call

A quorum was established.

Present: 26 - Committee Member Angela Bowens (D-1), Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Committee Member Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Committee Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Council President David James (D-6), Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Mark Fox (D-13), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Kevin Triplett (D-15), Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Committee Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Committee Member Nicole George (D-21), Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member James Peden (R-23), Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24), Committee Member Amy Holton Stewart (D-25), and Committee Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)

Support Staff

Jason Fowler, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Kathryn Meador, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Robert Tinsley, Civic Innovation and Technology

Clerk(s)

Sonya Harward, Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk

Recognition of Out-Going Council Members and Mayor

ID 22-1612

Mayor Fischer recognized the Out-Going Council Members: Angela Bowens, District 1; Bill Hollander, District 9; Mark Fox, District 13; Kevin Triplett, District 15; Nicole George, District 21; James Peden, District 23; and Amy Holton Stewart, District 25.

This following spoke to this item:

- Mayor Greg Fischer
- Wanda Mitchell Smith

ID 22-1819

Metro Council recognized the Out-Going Mayor, Greg Fischer.

* Council President James relinquished the chair to President Pro-Tem Winkler at 5:32 p.m.

Council President James spoke to this item.

* Council President James resumed the chair at 5:36 p.m.

Council President James introduced four of the Council Members-Elect, Andrew Owen, Jennifer Chappell, Tammy Hawkins, and Betsy Ruhe, who were in attendance in the gallery.

Review of the Metro Council Meeting

Council President James reviewed the Metro Council agenda.

The following spoke to this item:

- Council Member George
- Council Member Dorsey spoke to item 54 (O-322-22) and item 48 (O-324-22) that were forwarded from the Labor and Economic Development Committee. Council Member Ackerson also spoke about a proposed amendment to item 48 (O-324-22).
- Council Member Blackwell spoke to item 47 (O-182-22) that was forwarded from the Public Works Committee. Council Member Arthur also spoke about a proposed amendment to this Ordinance.
- Council Member Fowler and Council Member George spoke about item 49 (O-263-22) that was forwarded from the Parks and Sustainability Committee. Item 50 (R-189-22) was also discussed and the following spoke:
 - Council Member Fowler
 - Brooke Pardue, Parks Alliance of Louisville
 - Jayne Miller, for Parks Alliance of Louisville
 - Council Member Piagentini
- Council Member Flood
- Council Member Hollander spoke about item 53 (O-365-22) that was forwarded from the Budget Committee.
- Council Member Blackwell spoke to items forwarded from the Appropriations Committee.
- Council Member Winkler spoke to item 29 (R-176-22) and item 30 (R-183-22) that were on the Consent Calendar and were forwarded from Committee on Committees.

<u>ID 22-180</u>5

Metro Council Agenda - December 15, 2022

Attachments: FINAL Metro Council Agenda 12-15-22.pdf

Parks for All Presentation 12-15-22.pdf
Parks For All Action Plan (R-189-22).pdf

ID 22-1804

Addresses to Council - December 15, 2022

Attachments: Addresses to Council 12-15-22.pdf

Handout - A. Stegemann.pdf

Closed Session

The Council did not go into closed session.

Adjournment

Without objection, Council President James adjourned the meeting at 5:57 p.m.