

Louisville Metro Government

Action Summary - Tentative Committee on Equity and Inclusion

Chair Jecorey Arthur (D-4)
Vice Chair Anthony Piagentini (R-19)
Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2)
Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8)
Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11)
Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17)
Committee Member Nicole George (D-21)

Thursday, September 15, 2022

4:00 PM

Council Chambers/Virtual

THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

Call to Order

Chair Arthur called the meeting to order at 4:24 p.m.

Roll Call

Chair Arthur introduced the committee and non-committee members present. A quorum was established.

*NOTE: All committee and non-committee members present attended in chambers, except for Committee Member Shanklin, Committee Member Chambers Armstrong and Committee Member Winkler, who attended virtually.

Present: 7 -

Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Chair Jecorey Arthur (D-4),
 Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Vice Chair Anthony
 Piagentini (R-19), and Committee Member Nicole George (D-21)

Non-Committee Members

Council President David James

Supporting Staff

Natalie Johnson, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk(s)

Marissa Brown, Assistant Clerk Sonya Harward, Metro Council Clerk

Pending Legislation

[See the "Captioning Transcript of Committee on Equity and Inclusion - September 15, 2022.pdf" attached hereto for additional information regarding the discussion of each item.]

ID 22-1306

Captioning Transcript of Committee on Equity and Inclusion - September 15, 2022

<u>Attachments:</u> Captioning Transcript of Committee on Equity and Inclusion September 15, 2022.pdf

R-128-22

A RESOLUTION RELATING TO THE VOTING OF INCARCERATED INDIVIDUALS AT LOUISVILLE METRO DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND IN KENTUCKY.

<u>Sponsors:</u>Primary Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Additional David James (D-6) and Additional Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8)

Attachments: R-128-22 V.1 090822 Voting for Incarcerated Individuals at LMDC.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Piagentini, seconded by Committee Member Chambers Armstrong, that this Resolution be recommended for approval.

The following spoke to this item:

- Chair Arthur
- Elizabeth Sawyer, Hood to the Holler
- Shameka Parrish-Wright, VOCAL KY
- Savvy Shabazz, Life Coach Each One Teach One Reentry Fellowship and All of Us or None Kentucky
- Dr. Mariya Leyderman, Louisville Metro Department of Corrections
- Natalie Johnson, Jefferson County Attorney's Office
- Council President James
- Committee Member Winkler
- Committee Member Armstrong
- Committee Member George

Council President James and Committee Member Chambers Armstrong requested to be added as co-sponsors.

A motion was made by Committee Member Piagentini, seconded by Committee Member Chambers Armstrong, that this Resolution be tabled.

This motion to table carried by the following voice vote and the Resolution was tabled.

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Arthur adjourned the meeting at 4:58 p.m.