RESOLUTION NO. _____, SERIES 2022

A RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF KENTUCKY GENERAL ASSEMBLY SENATE BILL 19 AUTHORIZING TRAFFIC SIGNAL MONITORING SYSTEMS.

SPONSORED BY: COUNCIL MEMBERS BLACKWELL, DORSEY, FOX, PURVIS, FOWLER, AND COUNCIL PRESIDENT DAVID JAMES

WHEREAS, Metro Council acknowledges the staffing shortages within Louisville Metro Police Department ("LMPD"), currently averaging a need of approximately 300 patrol officers; and

WHEREAS, in 2017, LMPD patrol officers monitored an average of 20 square miles; and

WHEREAS, LMPD's current force fields approximately half the patrol officers LMPD fielded in 2017; and

WHEREAS, LMPD patrol officers monitor an average of 40 square miles, twice the area monitored in 2017; and

WHEREAS, Metro's streets are congested, with Dixie Highway seeing daily traffic averaging between 17,500 and 57,000 vehicles transiting Metro; and

WHEREAS, Between July 2016 and June 2021 public records show there have been 211 vehicular accidents on Dixie Highway due to a motorist's failure to yield right-of-way at traffic signals; and

WHEREAS, these accidents resulted in 133 injuries, and 135 reports of property damage; and

WHEREAS, Constituent communications complaining of motorists failing to wait through a red light signal have increased substantially in the previous five years; and WHEREAS, passage of Senate Bill 19 would work to alleviate these issues.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF THE LOUISVILLE/JEFFERSON COUNTY METRO GOVERNMENT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION I: The Louisville Metro Council supports passage of Kentucky General Assembly Senate Bill 19, authorizing automated traffic signal monitoring systems, and urges the General Assembly and Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky to pass the bill into law.

SECTION II: A copy of this Resolution will be sent to the members of the General Assembly and the Governor of the Commonwealth.

SECTION III: This Resolution shall take effect upon passage and approval or otherwise becoming law.

| Sonya Harward Metro Council Clerk | David James President of the Council | |
|--------------------------------------|--------------------------------------|--|
| Greg Fischer Mayor | Approval Date | |
| APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY: | | |

Michael J. O'Connell Jefferson County Attorney