Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission Meeting Minutes

March 17, 2022

A meeting of the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission was held on Thursday, March 17, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. online via Cisco Webex Video Teleconferencing.

Commission Members present:

Lori Stahlgren
Emily Liu
Amin Omidy
Christopher Fuller
Carrye Jones (joined the meeting at approximately 9:07 a.m.)
Robert Kirchdorfer (joined the meeting at approximately 9:20 a.m.)
Tamika Jackson
Stefanie Buzan
John Mays
Ashlyn Ackerman

Commission Members absent:

Howard Rosenberg David Morgan Morgan Ward

Staff Members Present:

Joe Haberman, Planning & Design Manager Brian Davis, Planning & Design Manager Dave Marchal, Deputy Director Kat Groskreutz, Planning & Design Coordinator Brad Fister, Historic Preservation Specialist Savannah Darr, Planning & Design Coordinator Laura Ferguson, Legal Counsel Sue Reid, Management Assistant

On the recommendation of the Louisville Metro Department of Public Health & Wellness regarding congregate events and social distancing, and as permitted by Commonwealth of Kentucky Senate Bill 150, the March 17, 2022 Historic Landmarks & Preservation Districts Commission meeting was held online.

The following matters were considered:

Historic Landmarks and Preservation District Commission Meeting Minutes March 17, 2022

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

FEBRUARY 17, 2022 HISTORIC LANDMARKS AND PRESERVATION DISTRICTS COMMISSION ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

00:03:46 On a motion by Commissioner Omidy, seconded by Commissioner Fuller, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission does hereby **APPROVE** the Minutes of the Annual meeting conducted on February 17, 2022.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Commissioners Stahlgren, Liu, Omidy, Fuller, Mays, and Vice Chair

Ackerman

Abstain: Commissioners Buzan, and Jackson

Absent: Commissioners Jones, Kirchdorfer, Rosenberg, Morgan, and

Chair Ward

Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission Meeting Minutes March 17, 2022

NEW BUSINESS 22-NationalRegister-01

Request: National Register Nomination Review

Project Name: Louisville College of Dentistry

Jurisdiction: Louisville Metro Council District: 4-Jecorey Arthur

Case Manager: Savannah Darr, Planning & Design Coordinator

The draft National Register nomination form for this case was incorporated into the record. The Commissioners received this form in advance of the hearing, and this form was available to any interested party prior to the public hearing. (The nomination form is part of the case file maintained at Planning and Design Services offices, 444 South 5th Street.)

An audio/visual recording of the Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission meeting related to this case is available on the Planning & Design Services website, or you may contact the Customer Service staff to obtain a copy.

Agency testimony:

00:04:48 Savannah Darr introduced the case and explained the Commission's responsibility in reviewing the nomination (see recording for detailed presentation).

The following spoke in favor of the nomination:

Joseph Pierson, 2309 Mohican Hill Court, Louisville, KY 40207

Summary of testimony of those in favor:

00:06:53 Joseph Pierson spoke in favor of the nomination and showed a Powerpoint presentation. Mr. Pierson provided a history of the property and responded to questions from the Commissioners (see recording for detailed presentation).

The following spoke in opposition of the nomination:

No one spoke.

00:38:35 Commissioners' deliberation

Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission Meeting Minutes March 17, 2022

NEW BUSINESS 22-NationalRegister-01

00:39:04 On a motion by Commissioner Buzan, seconded by Commissioner Stahlgren, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks & Preservation Districts Commission in Case Number 22-NationalRegister-01, does hereby **RECOMMEND** the National Register Nomination for the Louisville College of Dentistry, under Criterion C, be reviewed by the Kentucky Historic Preservation Review Board.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Commissioners Stahlgren, Liu, Omidy, Fuller, Jones, Mays, Buzan,

Jackson, and Vice Chair Ackerman Abstain: Commissioner Kirchdorfer

Absent: Commissioners Rosenberg, Morgan, and Chair Ward

Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission Meeting Minutes

March 17, 2022

The meeting adjourned at approximately 9:45 a.m.	
Chairman	
Division Director	