Louisville Metro Government



Action Summary - Tentative

Thursday, April 28, 2022

3:15 PM

THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

Council Chambers/Virtual

Committee of the Whole

Angela Bowens (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), David James (D-6)*, Paula McCraney (D-7), Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mark H. Fox (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Kevin Triplett (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17), Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20), Nicole George (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23) Madonna Flood (D-24), Amy Holton Stewart (D-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26) *Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

Call to Order

Council President James called the meeting to order at 3:17 p.m.

This meeting was held pursuant to KRS 61.826 and Council Rule 5A. All Council Members attended the meeting in Chambers, except for the following who attended virtually via WebEx.

- Council Member Shanklin
- Council Member McCraney
- Council Member Reed

Roll Call

- Present: 24 Committee Member Angela Bowens (D-1), Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Committee Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Council President David James (D-6), Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Mark H. Fox (D-13), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Kevin Triplett (D-15), Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Committee Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Committee Member Nicole George (D-21), Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member James Peden (R-23), Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24), and Committee Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)
- Excused: 2 Committee Member Keisha Dorsey (D-3), and Committee Member Amy Holton Stewart (D-25)

Support Staff

Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Travis Fiechter, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Kathryn Meador, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Robert Tinsley, Civic Innovation and Technology

Clerk(s)

Sonya Harward, Clerk Lisa Franklin Gray, Assistant Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk

Review of Metro Council Agenda

Council President James reviewed the Metro Council agenda.

Council Member Flood briefly spoke about items 51 through 57 that were forwarded from the Planning and Zoning Committee.

ID 22-0601

Metro Council Agenda - April 28, 2022

Attachments: Metro Council Agenda 4-28-22.pdf

Announcements

Council President James recognized Wanda Trimble.

Council President James made announcements about the following:

- Eight Council staff completed CPR training the previous day

- Designated First Responders for each floor of City Hall: Cheryl Woods, Steve Haag, and Katrina Helmer

- Council Members attending remotely should use GroupMe to get in the queue and those in Chambers should use their computers to get in the queue

- Invitation to the Backside of Churchill Downs on May 3, 2022

- Open enrollment for insurance ends on May 6, 2022

- Contact Katrina Helmer for podcast scheduling

- Financial Disclosure forms are due by May 13, 2022

- Early dismissal in City Hall on May 4, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. and closed on May 6, 2022

Council Member Hollander spoke about the Budget schedule, public comment forms, and the two public comment hearings. He also stated that the Budget books are online and that printed copies will be provided soon.

Council Member Ackerson spoke about the previous commitment the Council made regarding paving in a 10-year plan, the effect street paving has on the community, and asked that everyone pay attention to the amount the Mayor is putting towards street paving during his Budget Address so they can decide if how they plan to proceed.

Adjournment

Without objection, Council President James adjourned the meeting at 3:28 p.m.