

Louisville Metro Government

601 W. Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202

Action Summary - Final Public Safety Committee

Committee Members: James Peden (R-23)* David Yates (D-25)* David James (D-6) Kevin Kramer (R-11) Madonna Flood (D-24) * Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

3:30 PM

Council Chambers

THIS IS CONSIDERED A SPECIAL MEETING

Call to Order

Chairman Peden called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. and introduced the members and non members of the Committee that were present. A quorum was established.

Roll Call

Present: 5 - Chair Person James Peden (R-23), Vice Chair David Yates (D-25), Council Member David James (D-6), Council Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), and Council Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

> Also Present: Jim King (D-10), Kelly Downard (R-16), Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Jerry T. Miller (R-19)

Clerk: Kay Grissett, CKMC

Special Discussion

ID 14-488 Police Update to Committee from Chief Conrad

> Chief Conrad gave an update to the Committee on Waterfront Park, the Downtown Patrol, hiring additional personnel, arrests relating to the incidents that happened on March 22, 2014, a real time crime center, and the pros and cons of the use of drones for public protection.

ID 14-490 Speakers from the FOP

> David Mutchler, LMPD and President of Rivercity FOP Lodge 614, spoke regarding mob violence, the use of cameras, technology, the curfew ordinance, and manpower.

Pending Legislation

3. O-231-14 AN ORDINANCE AMENDING LOUISVILLE METRO CODE OF

ORDINANCES ("LMCO") §127.13 ET. AL., REGARDING BURGLAR

AND HOLD-UP ALARM NOTIFICATIONS.

Sponsors: David Yates (D-25)

This Ordince was Held in Committee.

4. O-061-14 AN ORDINANCE RELATING TO COMPLIANCE WITH AND THE

ENFORCEMENT OF LOUISVILLE METRO CODE OF ORDINANCES CHAPTER 94 AND THE INSTALLATION OF SMOKE DETECTORS (As

Amended). (Action Required By:June 2014)

Sponsors: James Peden (R-23)

This Ordince was Held in Committee.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Council Member James, seconded by Vice Chair Yates. Without objection the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.