

Louisville Metro Government

601 W. Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202

Action Summary - Final Public Safety Committee

Chair Person David James (D-6)
Vice Chair James Peden (R-23)
Committee Member Jessica Green (D-1)
Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4)
Committee Member Angela Leet (R-7)
Committee Member Julie Denton (R-19)
Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Monday, February 27, 2017

3:30 PM

Council Chambers

THIS IS CONSIDERED A SPECIAL MEETING

Call to Order

Chair Person James called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m.

Roll Call

Chair Person James introduced the committee members and non-committee members present. A quorum was established.

Committee Member Denton arrived at 3:35 p.m. Committee Member Green left at 5:03 p.m.

Present:

Chair Person David James (D-6), Committee Member Jessica Green (D-1),
 Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Committee Member Angela
 Leet (R-7), and Committee Member Julie Denton (R-19)

Excused: 2 - Vice Chair James Peden (R-23), and Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Non-Committee Members

Council Member Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Council Member S. Brandon Coan (D-8), Council Member Bill Hollander (D-9), and Council Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10)

Support Staff

Lonita Baker, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Sarah Martin, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk

David B. Wagner, Assistant Clerk

Special Discussion

1. ID 17-0206

Update on Metro Corrections Department (Continued from Public Safety Committee Meeting on February 15, 2017) - Mark Bolton, Metro Corrections Department

Attachments: Public Safety Committee PP 3-2 022717.pdf

Mark Bolton Information Email.pdf

Population Snap Shot on February 20.pdf

2015-2017 Inmates Transferred to KYDOC - 021517.pdf

Staff Demographics Powerpoint 022417.pdf

Bolton and James Communication Re Injured Inmate.pdf

Eggers and Bolton Communication Re Timeframe of Sunday Feb

19.pdf

LMDC Incident Report No. 00078765.pdf

Document from FOP Lodge No. 77 - Received 022717.pdf

021517 Public Safety Committee PP 3.pdf

Mark Bolton and Steve Durham, Louisville Metro Department of Corrections, spoke to the item and gave a presentation.

The following also spoke to the item:

- Tracy Dotson, Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) Lodge #77
- Bo Johnson, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)
- Alex Bradshaw, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Person James adjourned the meeting at 5:18 p.m.