

Louisville Metro Government

Action Summary - Final

Committee of the Whole

Jessica Green (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), David James (D-6), Angela Leet (R-7), S. Brandon Coan (D-8), Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Marianne Butler (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Glen Stuckel (R-17), Marilyn Parker (R-18), Julie Denton (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20), Dan Johnson (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23), Madonna Flood (D-24), David Yates (D-25)*, Brent Ackerson (D-26) * Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

Thursday, May 11, 2017

5:15 PM

First Floor Conference Room

Call to Order

President Pro Tem Hollander called the meeting to order at 5:22 PM.

Roll Call

Council Member Mulvihill (D-10) and Council Member Aubrey Welch (D-13) arrived at 5:31 PM.

- Present: 21 Council Member Jessica Green (D-1), Council Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Council Member Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Council Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Council Member Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Council Member David James (D-6), Council Member S. Brandon Coan (D-8), Council Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Council Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Council Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Council Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Council Member Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Council Member Glen Stuckel (R-17), Council Member Scott Reed (R-16), Council Member Glen Stuckel (R-17), Council Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Council Member Julie Denton (R-19), Council Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Council Member Dan Johnson (D-21), Council Member Robin Engel (R-22), and Council Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)
 Excused: 4 Council Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Council Member James Peden (R-23), Council Member Madonna Flood (D-24), and Council President David Yates (D-25)
- Absent: 1 Council Member Angela Leet (R-7)

Support Staff

Matt Golden, Julie Hardesty, Paul Rutherford and Nick Lococo, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Nick Kouloungis, Department of Information Technology Kellie Watson, Mayor's Office

Clerks

H. Stephen Ott, CKMC Jess Helton, CKMC

Review of Metro Council Agenda for May 11, 2017

1. <u>ID 17-0656</u>

Addresses to Council - May 11, 2017

Attachments: 5-11-17 Address Council Agenda.pdf

2. <u>ID 17-0657</u>

Metro Council Agenda - May 11, 2017

Attachments: 05-11-17 FINAL MC Agenda.pdf

Council Member Coan introduced Karen Williams, Convention and Visitors Bureau, to speak and answer questions regarding the proposed "e-cigarette and hookah" ordinance (O-074-17).

Special Discussion

ID 17-0714

City Hall Replacement Windows

Attachments: 051117 Facilities Email City Hall Window Replacement.pdf

President Pro Tem Hollander updated the committee regarding the replacement of the windows in City Hall. Metro Facilities informed the President's Office that Metro Council will need to authorize the funds for operable windows or proceed with Facilities recommended current project scope of inoperable windows. (See attached email).

President Pro Tem Hollander informed the Committee of the Whole that they would need to decide whether or not to go forward with the proposed plan to install operable windows before Wednesday, May 17, 2017.

A motion was made by Council Member Stuckel and seconded by Council Member Johnson, to go forward with the proposed plan of installing operable windows in City Hall, with funding coming from Metro Council's surplus FY17 general funds.

The motion carried by a show of hands with 12 Yes, 7 No, and 5 not voting.

Closed Session

3. <u>ID 17-0649</u>

Matt Golden, Jefferson County Attorney's Office - Ongoing Litigation

A motion was made by Council Member Woolridge, seconded by Council Member Benson to enter into a closed session to discuss pending litigation. Without objection the Committee entered into closed session at 5:52 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Woolridge, seconded by Council Member Shanklin to reconvene into regular session. Without objection the Committee reconvened at 5:56 PM. No action was taken during the closed session.

Adjournment

Without objection President Pro Tem Hollander adjourned the meeting at 5:57 PM.