

Louisville Metro Government

Minutes - Final

Special Meeting of the Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc.

Monday, June 19, 2017

1st Floor Conference Room

The special meeting of the Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc. was held in the 1st Floor Conference Room, of the Metro Development Center, on 444 South Fifth Street, 3:10 p.m., on the above date. The agenda and agenda items were electronically provided to the Board Members prior to the meeting.

BOARDS OF DIRECTORS PRESENT:

Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc. (hereinafter referred to as "LBA")

William P. Schreck, Chairperson Ishmon Burks, Vice President Franklin Jones, Treasurer

LOUISVILLE METRO GOVERNMENT STAFF PRESENT:

Develop Louisville and Vacant & Public Property Administration (hereinafter referred to as "VPPA")

Laura Grabowski, VPPA Director
Christopher FitzGerald, VPPA Administrative Coordinator
Carrie Fry, VPPA Real Estate Program Coordinator
Linette Huelsman, VPPA Real Estate Coordinator
Sally Jessell, VPPA Real Estate Program Coordinator
Mary McGuire, VPPA Legal Supervisor
Connie Sutton, VPPA Administrative Coordinator
Joshua Watkins, VPPA Real Estate Coordinator
Claire Yates, VPPA Real Estate Paralegal
Latondra Yates, VPPA Property & Leasing Supervisor

Jefferson County Attorney's Office

James T. Carey, Assistant Jefferson County Attorney (Substituting for Stephanie Malone, Legal Counsel of the Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc.)

GUESTS:

Kedrick Stanfield, Louisville Grows, Inc. Terra Leavell, Canaan's Community Development Corporation

Welcome, Introductions, and Announcements:

Ms. Grabowski welcomed all of the Board Members to the meeting.

Vacant and Abandoned Property Statistics:

Using a PowerPoint presentation, Ms. Grabowski provided and explained the LouieStat KPI Report for June 19, 2017.

THE LOUISVILLE AND JEFFERSON COUNTY LANDBANK AUTHORITY, INC.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at approximately 3:15 p.m. by Chairman Schreck.

Establish Quorum:

Roll call was taken and three (3) Board members were present establishing a quorum necessary to conduct business: Mr. Burks; Mr. Jones, and Mr. Schreck.

Approval of Minutes:

Motion: On motion of Mr. Jones, seconded by Mr. Burks, the minutes of the June 5, 2017 special meeting were unanimously approved.

New Business:

i. <u>Resolution 17, Series 2017, of the Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc.</u>

Using a PowerPoint presentation, Mr. FitzGerald provided an overview of the Choice Action Grant awarded as part of the Choice Neighborhoods initiative involving the Russell neighborhood and the proposed license agreements that will allow Louisville Grows, Inc. and Canaan's Community Development Corporation to use two (2) parcels of real property located at 634 and 636 South 18th Street which are the subject matters of the Resolution.

Mr. FitzGerald then explained the purpose behind the ten (10) year license agreement involving the subject properties and answered various questions from the Board relating to the licensees' proposed community garden and resource center.

Mr. Stanfield and Ms. Leavell then answered various questions from the Board relating to their planned project, its partnership aspects, and what the expected impact will be within the Russell community based on each organization's current operations.

Motion: On a motion of Mr. Burks, seconded by Mr. Jones, LBA Resolution 17, Series 2017, was unanimously approved. A copy of said Resolution 17, Series 2017, is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

ii. Resolution 18, Series 2017, of the Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc.

Using a PowerPoint presentation, Ms. Grabowski provided an overview of the Tax Delinquency Diversion Program, the role of the LBA Board, and the priority project areas identified by census blocks recommended for inclusion in the program and certification today by the Board. The priority project areas to be added to the previously recommended census blocks are inside the Smoketown Jackson and Shelby Park neighborhoods.

Ms. Grabowski then answered various questions from the Board relating to how the priority areas were selected for inclusion into the program and what impact, if any, could be expected relating to the collection of property taxes or future property transfers within the priority areas.

Motion: On a motion of Mr. Jones, seconded by Mr. Burks, LBA Resolution 18, Series 2017, was unanimously approved. A copy of said Resolution 18, Series 2017, is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

Old Business:

There is no old business to come before this board.

Announcements:

Ms. Grabowski announced that a presentation will be made at the next meeting detailing new real estate disposition programs that the VPPA Real Estate Team wishes to initiate to decrease our current inventory numbers and eliminate the need to demolish any structures currently owned by LBA. The basis for these programs comes from the public's input as to our current disposition programs relating to structures and vacant land, as well as those programs being run by other government entities. Ms. Grabowski also stated that the presentation will also address revisions to the VPPA's existing pricing policies which were discussed simultaneously along with the new disposition programs.

Mr. Schreck replied that he looks forward to the presentation, since there was no formal pricing policy before the existing board members began their terms. Mr. Jones then inquired as to how many structures are currently in the inventory to which Ms. Grabowski answered approximately seventy (70) structures.

Adjourn:

As there were no more items of business to discuss, on a motion by Mr. Burks, seconded by Mr. Jones, and unanimously passed, the meeting of the Louisville and Jefferson County Landbank Authority, Inc. was adjourned at 3:37 p.m.

Closing Remarks:

Ms. Grabowski expressed her appreciation to everyone for their attendance and participation, and added that the next VAPStat Joint Meeting is scheduled for 3:00 p.m., on July 10, 2017, at the Old Jail Building Auditorium.

CHAIRPERSON
LOUISVILLE AND JEFFERSON COUNTY LANDBANK AUTHORITY, INC
STAFF
DATE