July 20, 2017

A meeting of the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission was held on Thursday, July 20, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. at the Old Jail Building located at 514 W. Liberty Street, Louisville, Kentucky.

Commission Members present:

Joanne Weeter Jay Stottman Emily Liu Amin Omidy Tamika Jackson (arrived at approximately 9:17 a.m.) Robert Kirchdorfer Milton Haskins Jr. Brandon Coan Carrye Jones

Commission Members absent:

Bob Vice, Chair Reba Doutrick (Excused) Roberto Bajandas Chris Hartman (Excused)

Staff Members Present:

Joe Haberman, Planning & Design Manager Dave Marchal, Deputy Director, Develop Louisville Joe Reverman, Planning & Design Assistant Director Cynthia Elmore, Historic Preservation Officer Savannah Darr, Historic Preservation Specialist Becky Gorman, Historic Preservation Specialist John Carroll, Legal Counsel Sue Reid, Management Assistant

The following matters were considered:

July 20, 2017

00:00:05 On a motion by Commissioner Liu, seconded by Commissioner Haskins, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission does hereby **ELECT** Joanne Weeter to serve as **Temporary Chair** to preside over today's meeting.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Commissioners Jones, Stottman, Liu, Omidy, Haskins, Kirchdorfer, and Coan Not Voting: Commissioner Weeter Absent: Commissioners Jackson, Bajandas, Doutrick, Hartman, and Chair Vice

00:01:16 On a motion by Commissioner Omidy, seconded by Commissioner Liu, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission does hereby **EXCUSE** the absences of Commissioners Doutrick, Hartman and Jackson.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Commissioners Jones, Stottman, Liu, Omidy, Haskins, Kirchdorfer, Coan, and Weeter Absont: Commissioners Jackson Bajandas Doutrick Hartman and Chai

Absent: Commissioners Jackson, Bajandas, Doutrick, Hartman, and Chair Vice

July 20, 2017

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the minutes of the June 15, 2017 Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission meeting.

00:02:17 On a motion by Commissioner Haskins, seconded by Commissioner Omidy, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission does hereby **APPROVE** the minutes of the meeting conducted on June 15, 2017, **AS CORRECTED**.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Commissioners Jones, Stottman, Liu, Omidy, Haskins, Kirchdorfer, Coan, and Weeter

Absent: Commissioners Jackson, Bajandas, Doutrick, Hartman, and Chair Vice

July 20, 2017

PUBLIC HEARING 17DESGNATION1000

Request:	Individual Local Landmark Petition
Project Name:	Moore-Dunne House Designation Request
Request:	609 Blankenbaker Lane
Jurisdiction:	Louisville Metro
Council District:	16- Scott Reed
Case Manager:	Savannah Darr

The staff report prepared for this case was incorporated into the record. The Commission members received this report in advance of the hearing, and this report was available to any interested party prior to the public hearing. (The staff report is part of the case file maintained at Planning and Design Services offices, 444 South 5th Street.)

An audio/visual recording of the Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission meeting related to this case is available on the Planning & Design Services website, or you may contact the Customer Service staff to obtain a copy.

Agency testimony:

00:03:14 Savannah Darr provided an update on this case (see recording for detailed presentation).

The following spoke in favor of the request:

Lee Cory, 31 River Hill Road, Louisville, KY 40207

Summary of testimony of those in favor:

00:04:18 Lee Cory spoke on behalf of the petitioners in favor of the request (see recording for detailed presentation).

The following spoke in opposition of the request:

Butch Turner, 10 Poplar Hill Road, Louisville, KY 40207

July 20, 2017

PUBLIC HEARING 17DESGNATION1000

Summary of testimony of those in opposition:

00:13:31 Butch Turner spoke in opposition of the request. Mr. Turner requested another continuance of this case (see recording for detailed presentation).

00:31:34 NOTE: Savannah Darr stated she had received three emails in support of designation which she has disbursed to the Commissioners this morning (see recording for detailed presentation).

00:31:41 Commissioner Weeter acknowledged receipt of those emails (see recording for detailed presentation).

Closing statements in favor of the request:

00:32:19 Lee Cory provided closing statements in favor of the request. Ms. Cory stated the petitioners object to the motion for an extension (see recording for detailed presentation).

Closing statements in opposition of the request:

00:42:14 Butch Turner provided closing statements in opposition of the request. Mr. Turner responded to questions from the Commissioners (see recording for detailed presentation).

00:46:00 Commissioners' deliberation

00:46:17 John Carroll, Legal Counsel, advised the Commissioners of their options in the disposition of this case.

01:01:19 Public Hearing was reopened to accept additional testimony in regard to allowing an extension.

01:01:32 Lee Cory stated she was not in favor of an extension (see recording for detailed presentation).

July 20, 2017

PUBLIC HEARING 17DESGNATION1000

01:09:16 Commissioners' deliberation

01:13:57 On a motion by Commissioner Stottman, seconded by Commissioner Jones, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, the Louisville Metro Historic Landmarks and Preservation Districts Commission does hereby **APPROVE** Case Number 17DESGNATION1000, Individual Local Landmark Petition and adopt the Draft Designation Report, deleting Criteria D, and specifically calling out Criteria A, B, E, F, G, H, and I.

NOTE: Commissioner Jackson arrived at approximately 9:17 a.m.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Commissioners Jones, Jackson, Stottman, Liu, Omidy, Kirchdorfer, and Coan No: Commissioner Haskins

Abstain: Commissioner Weeter

Absent: Commissioners Bajandas, Doutrick, Hartman, and Chair Vice

July 20, 2017

The meeting adjourned at approximately 10:30 a.m.

Chairman

Division Director