Action Summary - Final

Government Accountability, Ethics and Intergovernmental Affairs Committee

Chair Person Pat Mulvihill (D-10) Vice Chair Julie Denton (R-19) Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4) Committee Member S. Brandon Coan (D-8) Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9) Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11) Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22)

Thursday, September 21, 201	7 5:00 PM	Council Chambers
THIS IS CONSIDERED A SPECIAL MEETING		
Call to Order		
	Chair Person Mulvihill called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m.	
Roll Call		
	Chair Person Mulvihill introduced the committee members and no members present. A quorum was established.	on-committee
Present: 5	- Chair Person Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Barbara Se Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Committee Member Kev and Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22)	
Excused: 2	- Vice Chair Julie Denton (R-19), and Committee Member S. Brand	on Coan (D-8)
Non-Committee Memb	er(s)	
	Council Member Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Council Member Cir (D-14), and Council Member Scott Reed (R-16)	ndi Fowler
Support Staff		
	Nick Lococo, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Jeff Derouen, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Beth Stenberg, Metro Council Finance	
Clerk(s)		
	David B. Wagner, Assistant Clerk	

Pending Legislation

1. <u>R-115-17</u>

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE SEPARATION OF THE COUNTY EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM FROM THE KENTUCKY RETIREMENT SYSTEM.

<u>Sponsors:</u>Primary Bill Hollander (D-9), Primary Robin Engel (R-22), Additional Marianne Butler (D-15), Additional Angela Leet (R-7), Additional Rick Blackwell (D-12), Additional Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Additional Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Additional Marilyn Parker (R-18), Additional Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Additional Cindi Fowler (D-14), Additional Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Additional Kevin Kramer (R-11) and Additional Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5)

Attachments: R-115-17 V.1 082417 Supporting Separation of CERS from KRS.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Engel, seconded by Committee Member Hollander, that this Resolution be recommended for approval.

Without objection from the primary sponsors, Council Members Vicki Aubrey Welch and Cindi Fowler were added as co-sponsors.

The following spoke to the item:

- Committee Member Hollander
- Committee Member Engel
- Bryanna Carroll (Kentucky League of Cities)
- David Nicholson (Kentucky Association of Counties)

Without objection from the primary sponsors, Committee Member Kramer and Council Member Hamilton were added as co-sponsors.

A motion was made by Committee Member Engel, seconded by Committee Member Kramer, that this Resolution be tabled. The motion to table failed by a voice vote.

The motion to recommend for approval carried by a voice vote and the Resolution was sent to Old Business per the request of Committee Member Kramer to allow for potential amendments.

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Person Mulvihill adjourned the meeting at 6:00 p.m.

*NOTE: Items sent to the Consent Calendar or Old Business will be heard before the full Council at the Metro Council Meeting on September 28, 2017.