MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING

OF THE

LOUISVILLE METRO BOARD OF ZONING ADJUSTMENT

February 4, 2019

The Annual Meeting of the Louisville Metro Board of Zoning Adjustment was held on February 4, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. at the Old Jail Building, located at 514 W. Liberty Street, Louisville, Kentucky.

Members Present:

Rosalind Fishman Dwight Young Lula Howard Lester Turner, Jr. Lindsey Jagoe Richard Buttorff Kimberly Leanhart

Staff Members Present:

Emily Liu, Planning & Design Director
Joe Reverman, Planning & Design Assistant Director
Joe Haberman, Planning & Design Manager
Chris French, Planning & Design Supervisor
Jon Crumbie, Planning & Design Coordinator
Steve Hendrix, Planning & Design Coordinator
Zach Schwager, Planner I
Lacey Gabbard, Planner I
Joel Dock, Planner II
Beth Jones, Planner II
John Carroll, Legal Counsel
Sue Reid, Management Assistant

The following matters were considered:

BOZA_Election_Officers

BOZA Annual Election of Officers

An audio/visual recording of the Board of Zoning Adjustment hearing related to this case is available on the Planning & Design Services website, or you may contact the Customer Service staff to view the recording or to obtain a copy.

00:02:49 On a motion by Member Howard, seconded by Member Buttorff, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED, Rosalind Fishman was elected to serve as Temporary Chair to preside over the Board of Zoning Adjustment Annual Meeting of February 4, 2019.

The vote was as follows:

Yes: Members Buttorff, Howard, Jagoe, Turner, Leanhart, Vice Chair Young, and Chair Fishman

00:04:18 A motion was made by Member Turner that Rosalind Fishman be nominated as Chairperson for the Board of Zoning Adjustment.

00:04:30 A motion was made by Member Howard that Dwight Young be nominated as Chairperson for the Board of Zoning Adjustment.

There being no further nominations, the election was closed and the votes were as follows:

Fishman Nomination:

Yes: Members Turner, and Leanhart

No: Members Buttorff, Howard, and Jagoe Abstain: Members Young, and Fishman

Young Nomination:

Yes: Members Buttorff, Howard, and Jagoe

No: Members Turner, and Leanhart Abstain: Members Young, and Fishman

00:08:54 A motion was made by Member Turner that Lula Howard be nominated as Vice Chairperson for the Board of Zoning Adjustment. Member Howard declined the nomination.

00:09:15 A motion was made by Member Buttorff that Rosalind Fishman be nominated as Vice Chairperson for the Board of Zoning Adjustment.

There being no further nominations, the election was closed and the vote was as follows:

Yes: Members Young, Buttorff, Howard, Jagoe, Turner, and Leanhart Abstain: Member Fishman

00:10:23 A motion was made by Member Howard that Kimberly Leanhart be nominated as Secretary for the Board of Zoning Adjustment.

There being no further nominations, the election was closed and the vote was as follows:

Yes: Members Young, Buttorff, Howard, Jagoe, Turner, and Fishman Abstain: Member Leanhart

BOZA_Annual_Report

BOZA Annual Report

00:11:32 Joe Haberman presented the Board of Zoning Adjustment Annual Report and showed a Powerpoint presentation. Mr. Haberman reviewed highlights from 2018. Mr. Haberman responded to questions from the Board Members (see recording for detailed presentation).

The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:25 p.m.
Chair
Secretary