# **Louisville Metro Government**

601 W. Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202



# **Action Summary - Tentative**

Thursday, December 10, 2020

## 5:15 PM

**Council Chambers** 

# **Committee of the Whole**

Jessica Green (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), David James (D-6)\*, Paula McCraney (R-7), Brandon Coan (D-8), Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mark H. Fox (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Kevin Triplett (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus B. Winkler (R-17), Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20), Nicole George (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23), Madonna Flood (D-24), David Yates (D-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26) \* Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

# Call to Order Council President James called the meeting to order at 5:17 p.m. The Clerk read the statement regarding the meeting being conducted by video teleconference, pursuant to KRS 61.826 and in accordance with Senate Bill 150. Council Members attended the meeting remotely, except for the following who were present in Chambers: Council President James Council Member Sexton Smith Council Member Kramer Council Member Blackwell

Present: 24 - Jessica Green (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), David James (D-6), Paula McCraney (D-7), Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mark H. Fox (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Kevin Triplett (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17), Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20), Nicole George (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23), Madonna Flood (D-24), David Yates (D-25), and Brent Ackerson (D-26)

### Support Staff

Genevieve First, Executive Assistant Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Wendy Hyland, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Travis Fiechter, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Alice Lyon, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk(s)

Lisa Franklin-Gray, Assistant Clerk Cheryl Woods, Assistant Clerk Sonya Harward, Clerk

### **Review of Metro Council Agenda**

Council President James reviewed the Metro Council agenda.

Council President James briefly spoke about the special guest and farewells to Council Member Sexton Smith and Council Member Coan.

The Clerk provided information about the Addresses to Council.

Council Member Yates explained the background for item 47 (O-530-20). He also discussed an amendment to the Ordinance that he would be proposing. Council Member George, Council Member Shanklin, Council Member Peden, Council Member Piagentini, and Council Member Fowler also spoke to this item.

Council Member Hollander reviewed item 49 (O-538-20) and item 50 (O-532-20). He also spoke about setting up a special Budget Committee meeting before the end of the year to hear item 62 (O-588-20) and item 63 (O-589-20).

Council Member Blackwell briefly spoke about item 51 (NDF120220LMPD10).

Council Member Ackerson explained that items 53-55 (appointments) were on Old Business so that Council Member Sexton Smith can abstain. He also briefly spoke about item 52 (R-149-20). Council Member Flood and Council Member Kramer also spoke to this item. Council Member Flood discussed an amendment she would be proposing.

Council Member Peden briefly spoke about item 43 (O-557-20) and item 44 (R-120-20) that were on the Consent Calendar. He also mentioned item 48 (R-161-20). Council Member Winkler also spoke about this item and discussed an amendment he would be proposing.

### ID 20-1674

### Metro Council Agenda - December 10, 2020

Attachments: Metro Council Agenda 12-10-20.pdf

### <u>ID 20-1675</u>

### Addresses to Council - December 10, 2020

Attachments: Addresses to Council 12-10-20.pdf

Bill Wells - Handout.pdf

### Announcements

There were no announcements

### Adjournment

Without objection, Council President James adjourned the meeting at 5:57 p.m.