

### Louisville Metro Government

601 W. Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202

# **Action Summary - Final Council Court**

Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), David James (D-6), Bill Hollander (D-9),Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11), Vicki Aubrey Welch

Cindi Fowler (D-14), Marianne Butler (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Glen Stuckel (R-17), Marilyn Parker (R-18), Julie Denton (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20), James Peden (R-23), Madonna Flood (D-24), Brent Ackerson (D-26)

(D-13),

Chair: David Yates (D-25) Chair Pro Tem:

Thursday, September 14, 2017

2:00 PM

**Council Chambers** 

#### Call to Order

President Yates called the meeting to order at 2:10 PM.

#### **Roll Call**

Council Member Flood was granted an excused absence, but arrived at 2:40 PM.

Present: 16 - Council Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Council Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Council Member Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Council Member David James (D-6), Council Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Council Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Council Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Council Member Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13), Council Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Council Member Marianne Butler (D-15), Council President Glen Stuckel (R-17), Council Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Council President Julie Denton (R-19), Council President Stuart Benson (R-20), Council President David Yates (D-25), and Council Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)

Excused: 4 - Council Member Mary C. Woolridge (D-3), Council President Scott Reed (R-16), Council President James Peden (R-23), and Council Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

#### Clerk

H. Stephen Ott, CKMC

#### Council Court Agenda

President Yates recognized Matt Golden, Jefferson County Attorney's Office, as the legal counsel for the Council Court.

President Yates stated that the Charging Committee's complaint against Council Member Dan Johnson was read into record during the August 10, 2017 Metro Council meeting.

#### 1. ID 17-1357

#### **Communication from the Charging Committee**

Attachments: Notice of Readiness to Proceed.pdf

The Council Court Clerk read the Notice to Proceed from the Charging Committee into the record.

#### **2**. <u>ID 17-1358</u>

#### **Selection of Hearing Dates**

President Yates recognized the following:

Deborah Kent, Attorney - Legal Counsel for the Charging Committee Thomas A. McAdam, III, Attorney - Legal Counsel for the Respondent

A motion was made by President Yates, seconded by Council Member Benson, that the Council Court hearing begin on October 9, 2017. The motion failed by a voice vote.

A motion was made by Council Member Denton, seconded by Council Member Fowler, that the Council Court hearing begin on November 1, 2017. The motion carried by a voice vote.

A motion was made by Council Member Butler, seconded by Council Member Benson, that the Council Court hearing begin on November 1, 2017 at 1:00 PM. The motion carried by a voice vote.

#### 3. ID 17-1359

#### **Designation of Council Court Chair Pro-Tem**

Without objection, President Yates appointed Council Member Hollander as the Chair Pro Tem of the Council Court.

#### **Documentation Filed with the Clerk's Office**

#### **4**. <u>ID 17-1288</u>

#### Filed on behalf of the Charging Committee

Attachments: Charges Against D21 CM Dan Johnson cc.pdf

Charging Comm Independent Counsel.pdf

Notice of Readiness to Proceed.pdf

#### **5**. ID 17-1289

#### Filed on behalf of the Respondent

Attachments: D21 CM Johnsons Response to Complaint.pdf

Motion 1 - Censure and Dismissal of Removal Proceedings FILED

MCCO.pdf

Motion 2 - Disqualification of Pres. Yates FILED MCCO.pdf

## Adjournment

Without objection President Yates adjourned the meeting at 2:54 PM.