

Louisville Metro Government

601 W. Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202

Action Summary - Final Public Safety Committee

Chair Person Jessica Green (D-1) Vice Chair James Peden (R-23) Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4) Committee Member Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) Committee Member Angela Leet (R-7) Committee Member Julie Denton (R-19) Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

3:30 PM

Council Chambers

Call to Order

Chair Person Green called the meeting to order at 3:31 p.m.

Roll Call

Chair Person Green introduced the committee members and non-committee members present. A quorum was established.

Committee Member Denton arrived at 3:54 p.m.

Present: 7 - Chair Person Jessica Green (D-1), Vice Chair James Peden (R-23), Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Committee Member Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Committee Member Angela Leet (R-7), Committee Member Julie Denton (R-19), and Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Non-Committee Member(s)

Council President David James (D-6), Council Member S. Brandon Coan (D-8), Council Member Bill Hollander (D-9), and Council Member Marilyn Parker (R-18)

Support Staff

Sarah Martin, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Eric Graninger, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk(s)

David B. Wagner, Assistant Clerk Lisa Franklin Gray, Assistant Clerk

Special Discussion

ID 18-0185

Youth Detention Center Accreditation Results: Vincent James (Mayor's Office) and Dr. Ursula Mullins (Youth Detention Services)

Attachments: 022818 YDS Council Public Safety 2.28.18 1.pdf

022818 LMYDS - Conditions of Confinement Narrative Report - FINAL

November 3 2017.pdf

022818 Louisville Metro Checklist - FINAL November 3 2017.pdf

The following spoke to the item:

- Vincent James, Mayor's Office
- Dr. Ursula Mullins, Youth Detention Services, who also gave a presentation
- Stephanie Bard, Jefferson County Public Schools

Pending Legislation

R-014-18 2.

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING AN AMENDMENT TO KRS 65.870 BY THE KENTUCKY GENERAL ASSEMBLY REGARDING LOCAL REGULATION OF FIREARMS AND AMMUNITION BY CONSOLIDATED LOCAL GOVERNMENTS.

> Sponsors: Primary S. Brandon Coan (D-8), Primary Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5), Primary David James (D-6) and Primary Bill Hollander (D-9)

Attachments: R-014-18 V.1 012518 Supporting Amendment to KRS 65.780 for Local

Regulation of Firearms & Ammunition by Consolidated Local

Governments.pdf

65.870 Local firearms control ordinances prohibited -- Exemption from

immunity.pdf HB189.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Hamilton, seconded by Committee Member Flood, that this Resolution be recommended for approval.

Eric Graninger, Jefferson County Attorney's Office, and Council Member Coan spoke to the item.

***NOTE: The committee adjourned without any further action being taken on this item. Therefore, this item will be immediately on the floor upon the Call to Order at the next Public Safety Committee meeting.

3. R-031-18

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE CREATION OF A NEW SECTION OF KRS CHAPTER 527 BY THE KENTUCKY GENERAL ASSEMBLY TO PROHIBIT THE UNLAWFUL STORAGE OF A FIREARM.

Sponsors: Primary David James (D-6)

Attachments: R-031-18 V.1 022218 Unlawful Firearm Storage.pdf

This item was held in Committee.

4. O-041-18

AN ORDINANCE REPEALING LOUISVILLE/JEFFERSON COUNTY METRO GOVERNMENT CODE OF ORDINANCES CHAPTERS 115.360(C), 115.360(D), AND 115.369(E) RELATING TO MOBILE FOOD UNIT VENDORS.

Sponsors: Primary Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) and Additional Angela Leet (R-7)

Attachments: O-041-18 V1. 022218 Mobile Food Repeal.pdf

This item was held in Committee.

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Person Green adjourned the meeting at 4:30 p.m.