

Louisville Metro Government

601 W. Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202

Action Summary - Final Government Oversight and Audit Committee

Chair Person Brent Ackerson (D-26) Vice Chair Robin Engel (R-22) Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4) Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7) Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9) Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10) Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12) Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14) Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16) Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19) Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

5:00 PM

Council Chambers

Call to Order

Chair Person Ackerson called the meeting to order at 5:09 p.m.

Roll Call

Chair Person Ackerson introduced the committee members and non-committee members present and a quorum was established.

Committee Member Blackwell arrived at 5:12 p.m. Committee Member Reed arrived at 5:13 p.m.

Present: 10 - Chair Person Brent Ackerson (D-26), Vice Chair Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4), Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), and Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24)

Excused: 1 - Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7)

Non-Committee Member(s)

Council Member Markus Winkler (D-17)

Staff

Sean Dennis, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Althea Jackson, Mayor's Office

Clerk(s)

Sharon Jones, Assistant Clerk

Pending Legislation

1. RP102119VE

REAPPOINTMENT OF VICTOR EDDIE TO HUMAN RELATIONS ADVOCACY BOARD. TERM EXPIRES SEPTEMBER 30, 2022.

Attachments: APT - Human Relations Advocacy Board.pdf

Victor Eddie 10.21.19.pdf

Applicants for Board - Human Relations Advocacy Board 10.21.19.pdf

Current Board - Human Relations Advocacy Board 10.21.19.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Sexton Smith, seconded by Committee Member Piagentini, that this Reappointment be recommended for approval. The motion carried by a voice vote and the Reappointment was sent to the Consent Calendar.

2. AP102119DS

APPOINTMENT OF DANA SPENCER TO THE URBAN RENEWAL COMMISSION. TERM EXPIRES JUNE 30, 2023.

Attachments: APT - Urban Renewal Commission.pdf

Dana Spencer 10.21.19.pdf

Applicants for Board - Urban Renewal Commission 10.21.19.pdf

Current Board - Urban Renewal Commission 10.21.19.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Sexton Smith, seconded by Committee Member Piagentini, that this Appointment be recommended for approval.

Althea Jackson, Mayor's Office, spoke to the item.

The motion carried by a voice vote and the Appointment was sent to the Consent Calendar.

3. AP102119CM1

APPOINTMENT OF CRYSTAL McAFEE TO THE URBAN RENEWAL COMMISSION. TERM EXPIRES JUNE 30, 2023.

Attachments: APT - Urban Renewal Commission.pdf

Crystal McAfee 10.21.19.pdf

Applicants for Board - Urban Renewal Commission 10.21.19.pdf

Current Board - Urban Renewal Commission 10.21.19.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Sexton Smith, seconded by Committee Member Engel, that this Appointment be recommended for approval.

Althea Jackson, Mayor's Office, spoke to the item.

The motion carried by a voice vote and the Appointment was sent to the Consent Calendar.

4. AP102119CM2

APPOINTMENT OF CHRISTIE McCRAVY TO THE URBAN RENEWAL COMMISSION. TERM EXPIRES JUNE 30, 2023.

Attachments: APT - Urban Renewal Commission.pdf

Christie McCravy 10.21.19.pdf

Applicants for Board - Urban Renewal Commission 10.21.19.pdf

Current Board - Urban Renewal Commission 10.21.19.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Sexton Smith, seconded by Committee Member Piagentini, that this Appointment be recommended for approval.

Althea Jackson, Mayor's Office, spoke to the item.

The motion carried by a voice vote and the Appointment was sent to the Consent Calendar.

5. AP102119DM

APPOINTMENT OF DELORIAN MALONE TO THE REVENUE COMMISSION. TERM EXPIRES OCTOBER 1, 2022.

Attachments: APT - Revenue Commission.pdf

Delorian Malone 10.21.19.pdf

Applicants - Revenue Commission 10.21.19.pdf

Current Board - Revenue Commission 10.21.19.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Flood, seconded by Committee Member Sexton Smith, that this Appointment be recommended for approval.

Althea Jackson, Mayor's Office, spoke to the item.

The motion carried by a voice vote and the Appointment was sent to the Consent Calendar.

6. RP102119TF

REAPPOINTMENT OF TRAVIS FRICK TO THE REVENUE COMMISSION. TERM EXPIRES OCTOBER 1, 2022.

Attachments: APT - Revenue Commission.pdf

Travis Frick 10.21.19.pdf

<u>Applicants - Revenue Commission 10.21.19.pdf</u> <u>Current Board - Revenue Commission 10.21.19.pdf</u>

A motion was made by Committee Member Sexton Smith, seconded by Committee Member Flood, that this Reappointment be recommended for approval. The motion carried by a voice vote and the Reappointment was sent

to the Consent Calendar.

7. AP102119JL

APPOINTMENT OF JOHN LAUNIUS TO THE TARC BOARD. TERM EXPIRES JUNE 30, 2020.

Attachments: APT - TARC.pdf

John Launius 10.21.19.pdf

Applicants for Board - TARC 10.21.19.pdf

Current Board - TARC 10.21.19.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Sexton Smith, seconded by Committee Member Piagentini, that this Appointment be recommended for approval.

Althea Jackson, Mayor's Office, spoke to the item.

The motion carried by a voice vote and the Appointment was sent to the Consent Calendar.

8. R-152-19

A RESOLUTION URGING THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE TO REINSTATE ITS FINAL RULE AMENDING REGULATIONS UNDER THE HORSE PROTECTION ACT AND URGING THE KENTUCKY DELEGATION TO THE US SENATE TO CO-SPONSOR, VOTE IN FAVOR OF, AND HELP SECURE ENACTMENT OF THE PREVENT ALL SORING TACTICS (PAST) ACT IN THE UNITED STATES SENATE.

Sponsors: Primary Markus Winkler (D-17)

Attachments: R-152-19 V1 PAST Act.pdf

BILLS-116s1007is.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Flood, seconded by Committee Member Mulvihill, that this Resolution be recommended for approval.

The following spoke to the item:

- Council Member Winkler
- Committee Member Piagentini
- Committee Member Reed
- Committee Member Sexton Smith
- Vice Chair Engel
- Committee Member Flood
- Chair Person Ackerson

The motion carried by the following vote and the Resolution was sent to the Consent Calendar:

Yes: 10 - Ackerson, Engel, Sexton Smith, Hollander, Mulvihill, Blackwell, Fowler, Reed, Piagentini, and Flood

Excused: 1 - McCraney

Special Discussion

9. <u>ID 19-1805</u>

Sean Dennis, Jefferson County Attorney's Office - Continued Discussion on Fees, Fines, and Penalties

The following spoke to the item:

- Sean Dennis, Jefferson County Attorney's Office
- Committee Member Mulvihill

Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Person Ackerson adjourned the meeting at 5:41 p.m.

*NOTE: Items sent to the Consent Calendar or Old Business will be heard before the full Council at the Metro Council Meeting on November 7, 2019.