Louisville Metro Government



Action Summary - Final

Thursday, January 6, 2022

5:15 PM

THIS IS CONSIDERED A SPECIAL MEETING THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE Council Chambers/Virtual

Committee of the Whole

Jessica Green (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), David James (D-6)*, Paula McCraney (D-7), Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11), Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mark H. Fox (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14), Kevin Triplett (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17), Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20), Nicole George (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23) Madonna Flood (D-24), Amy Holton Stewart (D-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26) *Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

Call to Order

Council President James called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.

This meeting was held pursuant to KRS 61.826 and Council Rule 5A. Council Members attended the meeting remotely, except for the following who attended in Chambers:

- Council President James
- Council Member Triplett
- Council Member Winkler
- Council Member George

Roll Call

A quorum was established.

- Present: 24 Committee Member Jessica Green (D-1), Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Committee Member Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Committee Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Council President David James (D-6), Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Mark H. Fox (D-13), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Committee Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Committee Member Nicole George (D-21), Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member James Peden (R-23), and Committee Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)
- Excused: 2 Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24), and Committee Member Amy Holton Stewart (D-25)

Support Staff

Sarah Martin, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Paul Rutherford, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Joan Sheffer, Civic Innovation and Technology Robert Tinsley, Civic Innovation and Technology

Cerk(s)

Sonya Harward, Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk

Review of Metro Council Agenda

ID 22-0035

Metro Council Agenda - January 6, 2022

Attachments: Metro Council Agenda 1-6-22.pdf

Council President James reviewed the Metro Council agenda.

Council President James explained that the Council would dissolve into the Committee of the Whole in order to discuss item 3 (R-161-21) with the Chief of Public Safety, Matt Golden, and Council Member Winkler also briefly discussed this item.

Announcements

Council President James stated that the Council had been invited to participate in a meeting with the Chairman and Members of the House Judiciary Committee, Representative Massey and Representative Upchurch, on January 14, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. to discuss matters of importance in Louisville.

Council President James provided updates on the following: - work on the air conditioning compressors for Chambers was completed - first podcast completed successfully and reminded the Council Members to schedule time with Katrina Helmer if they wanted to do a podcast - tour of MetroTV's production room and requests from the MetroTV Director regarding the promotion of MetroTV in District newsletters, Committee Chairs starting and ending meetings on time to keep MetroTV on schedule, and Committee Chairs providing a one-minute warning before starting meetings.

Special Discussion

ID 22-0034

Pending Litigation Related to Metro Correction's Over Detention Class Action Civil Suit

A motion was made by Council Member Winkler, seconded by Council Member Piagentini, that the Committee enter into closed session, pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(c), to discuss pending litigation. The motion carried by a voice vote and the Committee entered into closed session at 5:20 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Triplett, seconded by Council Member George, that the Committee reconvene in open session. The motion carried by a voice vote and the Committee reconvened in open session at 5:53 p.m.

Council President James stated that, pursuant to KRS 61.815(1)(c), no final action was taken during the closed session.

Adjournment

Without objection, Council President James adjourned the meeting at 5:53 p.m.