Louisville Metro Government



Action Summary - Final

Thursday, June 23, 2022 5:15 PM

THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECONFERENCE

Council Chambers/Virtual

Committee of the Whole

Angela Bowens (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Keisha Dorsey (D-3),
Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), David James (D-6)*,
Paula McCraney (D-7), Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8),
Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11),
Rick Blackwell (D-12), Mark H. Fox (D-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14),
Kevin Triplett (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17),
Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20),
Nicole George (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), James Peden (R-23)
Madonna Flood (D-24), Amy Holton Stewart (D-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26)
*Denotes the Committee Chair(s)

Call to Order

Council President James called the meeting to order at 5:16 p.m.

This meeting was held pursuant to KRS 61.826 and Council Rule 5A. All Council Members attended the meeting in Chambers, except for the following who attended virtually via WebEx:

- Council Member Shanklin
- Council Member Dorsey
- Council Member Arthur
- Council Member Mulvihill
- Council Member Blackwell
- Council Member Fowler
- Council Member Flood

Roll Call

A quorum was established.

Present: 25 - Committee Member Brent Ackerson (D-26), Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Committee Member Keisha Dorsey (D-3), Committee Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Council President David James (D-6), Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8), Committee Member Bill Hollander (D-9), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Mark H. Fox (D-13), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Kevin Triplett (D-15), Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Committee Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Committee Member Nicole George (D-21), Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member James Peden (R-23), Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24), and Committee Member Amy Holton Stewart (D-25)

Excused: 1 - Committee Member Angela Bowens (D-1)

Support Staff

LaTonya Bell, Council Financial Analyst Beth Stenberg, Council Financial Analyst Sarah Martin, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Travis Fiechter, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Natalie Johnson, Jefferson County Attorney's Office Robert Tinsley, Civic Innovation and Technology

Clerk(s)

Sonya Harward, Clerk Lisa Franklin Gray, Assistant Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk Marissa Brown, Assistant Clerk

Review of Metro Council Agenda

Council President James briefly reviewed the Metro Council agenda.

Council Member Hollander briefly spoke about items 37-39 that were forwarded from the Budget Committee.

Council Member George briefly spoke about item 41 that was forwarded from the Public Works Committee.

Council Member Fox briefly spoke about item 40 that was forwarded from the Public Safety Committee. Council Member Chambers Armstrong also spoke about this item.

Council Member Dorsey briefly spoke about item 42 that was forwarded from the Labor and Economic Development Committee.

Council Member Blackwell briefly spoke about item 43 that was forwarded from the Appropriations Committee.

Council Member Flood briefly spoke about items 36 and 44-48 that were forwarded from the Planning and Zoning Committee.

ID 22-0874

Metro Council Agenda - June 23, 2022

Attachments: FINAL Metro Council Agenda 6-23-22.pdf

ID 22-0873

Addresses to Council - June 23, 2022

Attachments: Addresses to Council 6-23-22.pdf

<u>Handout - S. Avery.pdf</u> <u>Handout - L. Slawsky.pdf</u>

Closed Session to Discuss Pending Litigation

A motion was made by Council Member Piagentini, seconded by Council Member Winkler, that the Committee enter into closed session, pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(c), to discuss pending litigation. The motion carried by a voice vote, and the Committee entered into closed session at 5:25 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Piagentini, seconded by Council Member Winkler, that the Committee reconvene in open session. The motion carried by a voice vote and the Committee reconvened in open session at 6:00 p.m.

Council President James stated that, pursuant to KRS 61.815(1)(c), no final action was taken during the closed session.

Presidential Updates

Council President James introduced the new Assistant Clerk, Marissa Brown.

Adjournment

Without objection, Council President James adjourned the meeting at 6:01 p.m.