

# Louisville Metro Government

# **Action Summary - Final**

# **Committee on Equity and Inclusion**

	Chair Jecorey Arthur (D-4)				
Vice Chair Anthony Piagentini (R-19) Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8) Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11) Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17) Committee Member Nicole George (D-21)					
			Thursday, September 15, 202	2 4:00 PM	Council Chambers/Virtual
			THIS	MEETING IS BEING HELD VIA VIDEO TELECON	IFERENCE
			Call to Order		
				Chair Arthur called the meeting to order at 4:24 p.m.	
Roll Call					
	Chair Arthur introduced the committee and non-commi A quorum was established.	rthur introduced the committee and non-committee members present. um was established.			
	*NOTE: All committee and non-committee members pre chambers, except for Committee Member Shanklin, Co				
	Chambers Armstrong and Committee Member Winkler,				
Present: 7	<ul> <li>Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Chair Jec Committee Member Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8 Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Markus Winkler (E Piagentini (R-19), and Committee Member Nicole Georetical)</li> </ul>	), Committee Member Kevin 0-17), Vice Chair Anthony			
Non-Committee Memb	ers				
	Council President David James				
Supporting Staff					
	Natalie Johnson, Jefferson County Attorney's Office				
Clerk(s)					
	arissa Brown, Assistant Clerk onya Harward, Metro Council Clerk				
Pending Legislation					
	[See the "Captioning Transcript of Committee on Equity and Inclusion - September 15, 2022.pdf" attached hereto for additional information regarding the discussion of each item.]				

## ID 22-1306

#### Captioning Transcript of Committee on Equity and Inclusion - September 15, 2022

<u>Attachments:</u> Captioning Transcript of Committee on Equity and Inclusion -September 15, 2022.pdf

### 1. <u>R-128-22</u>

# A RESOLUTION RELATING TO THE VOTING OF INCARCERATED INDIVIDUALS AT LOUISVILLE METRO DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND IN KENTUCKY.

<u>Sponsors:</u>Primary Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Additional David James (D-6) and Additional Cassie Chambers Armstrong (D-8)

Attachments: R-128-22 V.1 090822 Voting for Incarcerated Individuals at LMDC.pdf

A motion was made by Committee Member Piagentini, seconded by Committee Member Chambers Armstrong, that this Resolution be recommended for approval.

The following spoke to this item:

- Chair Arthur
- Elizabeth Sawyer, Hood to the Holler
- Shameka Parrish-Wright, VOCAL KY
- Savvy Shabazz, Life Coach Each One Teach One Reentry Fellowship and All of Us or None Kentucky
- Dr. Marina Landarman Lanianilla Matra Da
- Dr. Mariya Leyderman, Louisville Metro Department of Corrections
- Natalie Johnson, Jefferson County Attorney's Office
- Council President James
- Committee Member Winkler
- Committee Member Armstrong
- Committee Member George

Council President James and Committee Member Chambers Armstrong requested to be added as co-sponsors.

A motion was made by Committee Member Piagentini, seconded by Committee Member Chambers Armstrong, that this Resolution be tabled.

This motion to table carried by the following voice vote and the Resolution was tabled.

## Adjournment

Without objection, Chair Arthur adjourned the meeting at 4:58 p.m.