Louisville Metro Government



Action Summary - Tentative

Monday, March 13, 2023

4:00 PM

THIS IS CONSIDERED A SPECIAL MEETING THIS MEETING IS BEING HELD VIDEO TELECONFERENCE Council Chambers/Virtual

Committee of the Whole

Tammy Hawkins (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Kumar Rashad (D-3),
Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Phillip T. Baker (D-6),
Paula McCraney (D-7), Vacant (D-8),
Andrew Owen (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Kramer (R-11),
Rick Blackwell (D-12), Dan Seum, Jr. (R-13), Cindi Fowler (D-14),
Jennifer Chappell (D-15), Scott Reed (R-16), Markus Winkler (D-17)*,
Marilyn Parker (R-18), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Stuart Benson (R-20),
Betsy Ruhe (D-21), Robin Engel (R-22), Jeff Hudson (R-23),
Madonna Flood (D-24), Khalil Batshon (R-25), Brent Ackerson (D-26)
*Denotes the Committee Chair

Call to Order

Council President Winkler called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

This meeting was held pursuant to KRS 61.826 and Council Rule 5A. Council Members attended the meeting in Chambers, except for the following who attended remotely:

- Council Member Shanklin
- Council Member McCraney
- Council Member Blackwell
- Council Member Fowler
- Council Member Engel
- Council Member Flood

Roll Call

A quorum was established.

Present: 20 - Committee Member Tammy Hawkins (D-1), Committee Member Barbara Shanklin (D-2), Committee Member Kumar Rashad (D-3), Committee Member Donna L. Purvis (D-5), Committee Member Phillip T. Baker (D-6), Committee Member Paula McCraney (D-7), Committee Member Andrew Owen (D-9), Committee Member Kevin Kramer (R-11), Committee Member Rick Blackwell (D-12), Committee Member Dan Seum, Jr. (R-13), Committee Member Cindi Fowler (D-14), Committee Member Jennifer Chappell (D-15), Committee Member Scott Reed (R-16), Committee Member Markus Winkler (D-17), Committee Member Stuart Benson (R-20), Committee Member Betsy Ruhe (D-21), Committee Member Robin Engel (R-22), Committee Member Jeff Hudson (R-23), Committee Member Madonna Flood (D-24), and Committee Member Khalil Batshon (R-25)

Excused: 5 -

Committee Member Jecorey Arthur (D-4), Committee Member Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Committee Member Marilyn Parker (R-18), Committee Member Anthony Piagentini (R-19), and Committee Member Brent Ackerson (D-26)

Support Staff

Hollie Hopkins, Jefferson County Attorney's Office

Clerk(s)

Sonya Harward, Clerk Marissa Brown, Assistant Clerk Olivia Bennett, Assistant Clerk

Explanation of Interview Process

Council President Winkler provided an explanation of the procedures for the interviews.

Candidates for District 8 Metro Council Seat

The Clerk called each candidate forward to be interviewed in the following order:

1. ID 23-0242

Peggy Boeck Garrison - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Peggy Boeck Garrison - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

2. <u>ID 23-0243</u>

Colby Lawrence Birkes - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Colby Lawrence Birkes - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

3. ID 23-0244

Marty Meyer - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Martin Philip Meyer - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

4. ID 23-0245

Johnson Ives Webb - District 8 Candidate

<u>Attachments:</u> Johnson Ives Webb - Resume and Application_Redacted.pdf

5. <u>ID 23-0260</u>

George E. Timmering, Jr. - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: George E. Timmering, Jr. - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

6. <u>ID 23-0261</u>

Ben Reno-Weber - District 8 Candidate

<u>Attachments:</u> Benjamin Jay Rene-Weber - Resume and Application_Redacted.pdf

7. <u>ID 23-0262</u>

Andrew C. Bailey - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Andrew Charles Bailey - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

8. <u>ID 23-0263</u>

Larry Bisig - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Lawrence Joseph Bisig - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

9. ID 23-0264

Taylor McGovern U'Sellis - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Taylor Dylan McGovern U'Sellis - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

10. ID 23-0272

LaDonna Brown Johnson - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: LaDonna Brown Johnson - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

11. ID 23-0273

Rosemarie Sprawls - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Rosemarie Sprawls - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

12. ID 23-0275

Brian A. Arbenz - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Brian Alexander Arbenz - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

13. <u>ID 23-0276</u>

Michael V. Lucchese - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Michael Vincent Lucchese - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

14. ID 23-0277

William P. Schreck - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: William Paul Schreck - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

15. ID 23-0278

Michael A. Triebsch - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Michael Anthony Triebsch - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

16. ID 23-0279

Lemuel Mason - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Lemuel Wyatt Mason - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

17. ID 23-0294

WITHDRAWN Chris Meyer - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Christopher Joseph Meyer - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

This candidate withdrew.

18. ID 23-0295

Craig A. DaRif - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Craig Anthony DaRif - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

19. <u>ID 23-0296</u>

WITHDRAWN Robert Kenyon Meyer - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Robert Kenyon Meyer - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

This candidate withdrew.

20. ID 23-0297

Jo Lloyd-Triplett - District 8 Candidate

<u>Attachments:</u> Joanne Victoria Lloyd-Triplett - Resume and

Application_Redacted.pdf

21. ID 23-0299

WITHDRAWN Mathew Ruberg - District 8 Candidate

Attachments: Mathew William Ruberg - Resume and Application Redacted.pdf

This candidate withdrew.

Adjournment

Without objection, Council President Winkler adjourned the meeting at 8:36 p.m.